A twist on traditional Whipped Cream

For those of you that are lactose intolerant, this one’s for you!

Recently I found a recipe on Pinterest for Coconut Whipped Cream. I had been wanting to try it out and had the perfect opportunity last weekend when the DH and I invited some friends over for a barbecue. I made my Mom’s strawberry rhubarb crisp for dessert and needed something to cut the sweetness. I usually make my own fresh whipped cream because its really easy, only requiring some arm power to whip up heavy cream with a little bit of powdered sugar and vanilla extract on occasion. Well instead I decided to use a can of coconut milk that had been sitting in my pantry for some time. I like to keep a can on hand for when I get a craving for smoothies. I found this recipe HERE and just did a couple things differently. Its so easy to make. All you do is take a can of full fat coconut milk and put it in the fridge overnight so that the water and the coconut milk separate. You may be able to skip this step if your can has been sitting around for awhile (not expired of course) and hasn’t been shaken. Remember…don’t shake the can. You want the contents to separate. Next, open it and scoop out the coconut milk on top and leave the water in the can which can be used for smoothies, yogurt, or maybe even poured over fruit. Whip the the coconut milk with a whisk or hand mixer. The recipe calls for cinnamon and vanilla but I left those out and just added a couple tablespoons of powdered sugar. I was amazed at how creamy and delicious this whipped cream is! Seriously! Everyone loved it and went back for seconds. I even made some more that evening to top on a piece of blueberry pie I had left over from the day before. My first thought when making this was that it was going to be good but not able to replace traditional dairy whipped cream, but it did! I’ve since used it to dip fruit in as a light snack and even topped my coffee off with a dallop. ┬áIts the perfect option to make whipped cream in a pinch when you don’t have heavy cream on hand or when you need a dairy free option. Heck, its so good you don’t even need a reason to make it! Trust me, give it a try. And if you try it with cinnamon and vanilla let me know how it turns out!

2 thoughts on “A twist on traditional Whipped Cream

  1. Awesome! I hadn’t thought to try and substitute whipped cream, my 6 year old and I just have our dessert without whipped cream and glance longingly at the rest of the families plates piled high with cream ;) I’m definitely going to try this next time! Thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Reply

